Indeed Incredible India! – Chandigarh Part 1

Oh…what a wonderful world….and I believe, God has done justice to our country, which has everything that it needs, you name we have it, the hills, the shrines, the holy waters, the pristine snow clad mountains, deserts, rivers, ocean, lakes, valley, plantations….flora and fauna, the list can go on…..

Wonder what I’m talking about, I’m talking about my recent travel to the mighty Himalayan ranges, and one has to see to believe it…how mighty and serene it is up there on the hills….where surely God’s must reside…and might have had…if only we believe…

But since the journey was spaced out over 8 days, I would like to split my travel escapade as well. Now beginning with Chandigarh, so that you too get a clear glimpse into our wonderland, called Incredible India.

Day 1. Chandigarh Rock Garden Creator Nek Chand Saini

It all began with our air journey from Mumbai (the city of dreams) to Chandigarh; land of Mr. Nek Chand’s exquisite artistry, making India the proud bearer of his unique skill of using Industrial and other waste materials coupled with an unbelievable yet not so easily mouldable item such as a Rock moulded at its best by this native of India hailing from the village of Shakargarh (region now in Pakistan).

Rock Garden Description

Nek Chand is a self-taught artist famous for building the Rock Garden in Chandigarh. It is an 18 acre sculpture garden in the city of Chandigarh.

Nek Chand's Rock Garden

Beautiful depiction of memories

One could feast their eyes for hours together at this out of the world location….admiring each of his unique creations…his vision is indeed exuberant…for he enhances the saying…where the mind stops thinking, imagination takes a leap…and that is what is depicted in his unique rock art…

Use of waste materials

Below is a mini tour of the garden followed by the pictures..hope you enjoy the virtual tour as much as we did the real one…

Here are some terra-cotta pots lined up in a stunning way…

Pots made out of stone

Likewise for these creepers, which although look like real ones, are indeed carved out of a stone…amazing isn’t it…

Creepers made of stone

Here’s a house carved out of stone….

house carved out of rock

And below are some stone animals moreso like real ones…

penguine creatures

monkeys

elephant

Men, women and people playing music…what a vision…

men

women

people playing music

Since this post itself is so huge, and everything can’t be incorporated, I’m breaking it down for you to enjoy all the places…

I also have a video tour of this exquisite place for you, so here goes..click here

Video on Nek Chand’s Rock Garden – Chandigarh

They say, God is everywhere, sure he is, for this man found it in an inanimate object like a stone…and waste materials….it is true when they say, one man’s garbage is another man’s gold….Nek Chand Sir proved it….literally…

Salute to this Visionary who has done India proud with his unique talent and achievement…

So guys, what do you think you wanna create today….think..you never know, what miracle you can create, if only…..you believe….

Signing off for now and as promised I’ll return for the next blog…soon…so stay tuned….

But do tune in for further interesting episodes from our trip to the North…further to come is part two in Chandigarh Sukhna Lake and Haryana Pinjore garden (Fort)…..

8 thoughts on “Indeed Incredible India! – Chandigarh Part 1

    • Hey Holly thanks..glad I made you nostalgic…well there are more to come though…I’m trying to go slow on them..Or else I’ll collapse with the heaps of photos and video making…haha..well hang in there..since there are some to come your way…hope you enjoyed the video…take care…and thanks for stopping by, will surely check out your blog as well…:)

    • Hi Restlessjo
      thanks for stopping by. Well it is one of my endeavors, to try and bring to travel enthusiasts like yourself, a beautiful yet sublime glimpse into your humble, yet vast country called India..I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures, the video of one of the places..well there is more to come in the coming weeks…hope to see you again..And Hey you truly click amazing pictures, I just recently visited your blog and our descriptions styles are similar..that was a coincidence…this is the only way, we can see the whole world, with each others eyes and descriptions and experiences..so lets keep exchanging our visions and we can conquer the world…virtually..hope to see you around some time..again..and do not forget to check out the reviews of my book The Cup of Life on amazon, life can be a topic that you might wanna relish…:)

  1. Seeta, what a great post! We each have special ties to our country and people/places/events that we set apart above others. You have not only expressed your love for India but shared with others some of the things behind that love. I have not traveled to your part of the world but you make it seemreally fascinating. I thoroughly enjoyed the video but wish I could have heard what you were saying. Maybe you could add a description. My favorite was the cascading waterfall.

    I have been following your blog for some time but have not been receiving the email notifications so I clicked for that feature. The emails serve as a reminder so I can visit more often:>)

    • Hi Sharla that is so sweet of you..to have visited and liked my vision of my country…its true everyone has something that they like and dislike about their country. Its just our perspectives towards our nation, makes it special or worse for us…for me, nothing is as gratifying a feeling of being part of this multi diverse warm nation..although I would love for it to improve and improvise in a lot of fields..but nothing and no one can be perfect…so its my attempt, to show via my blog, the beauty of my country, in which ever miniscule possible way…I know I can’t possibly travel the length and breadth of the country literally..but can possibly update you travel enthusiasts with my possible escapades…so that you too can take some thing away from our humble country, called India…I’m glad that I’m serving the purpose, when beautiful writers and bloggers like you, take time out to visit and appreciate my blog…Thanks for subscribing, I’ve also subscribed to you and also enjoy your writing…and truly relish your sublime poetries..they are one of a kind and so soothing…it really gives us a glimpse into your wonderful mind, which is so lively and full of expression…it shows in your writing..thanks for visiting..I do hope you take a look at my self help book, since I’m sure we are of the same wavelength and you would understand my writings…its available at amazon…it also has reviews…love for you to come back..and I’ll continue to cherish your writings as well..Your Dear Friend Seeta..

  2. Hi, Seeta. Thank you for your kind words! When I touch someone’s heart, I know that I have succeeded with my writing. I have another writer ‘friend’ from India with whom I correspond. Here is her site…she is in New Delhi – http://twitamic.blogspot.com/ She probably would enjoy a visit from someone in her home country.

    If for some reason, I go to long and seem ‘out of contact’, be sure to send me a message and give me a little nudge!

    • That is nice..I feel the same too, when my writing too appeals to people…its a feeling of contentment..well..thanks for your guidance and support…I did visit your friends page and left a comment there..Internet is a great place to find precious friends like you…will surely keep you posted anytime I feel you are loosing touch…and my warm regards will always be with you in whatever you do…thanks…Sharla…

Leave a Reply

